Cookie Consent by Free Privacy Policy Generator
17 December 2020
Asthma , Allergy
- Interest Group

The co-Secretariat of the European Parliament Interest Group on Allergy & Asthma, EFA and EAACI, are delighted to welcome 3 new MEPs to its ranks!

MEPs Tilly Metz (Greens/EFA-Luxembourg), Juozas Olekas (S&D-Lithuania) and Elena Kountoura (GUE/NGL-Greece) commit to promote the Interest Group’s cause and to represent the voice of allergy and asthma patients and healthcare professionals at the European Parliament.

MEPs Metz and Kountoura are the first members to join from the Greens and GUE/NGL respectively, while MEPs Metz and Olekas have expanded the leadership of the Interest Group, as they have both joined as Vice-Chairs.

As allergy and asthma are two of the most prevalent chronic diseases in Europe and impact people of all ages, it is positive to see MEPs come together to address the environmental, social, economic and other factors that influence these diseases, and to look towards technological advancements that can help patients with disease management and improve patient-centred care.

The Interest Group is led by the Chair Sirpa Pietikäinen (EPP, Finland) and Vice-Chairs: Cristian-Silviu Busoi (EPP, Romania), Tilly Metz (Greens/EFA, Luxembourg), Juozas Olekas (S&D, Lithuania), and Manuel Pizarro (S&D, Portugal). It creates exchanges on best healthcare practices for patients with allergies and asthma, as well as to contribute to EU policy initiatives to address the challenges faced by patients.

We are looking forward to working with you to improve allergy and asthma health in Europe! You can see the full list of MEPs supporting the Interest Group on Allergy & Asthma here.